Palm Coast – The City of Palm Coast has maintained its Class 4 Community Rating System (CRS) under the National Flood Insurance Program for another year.

The City of Palm Coast earned its Class 4 Designation in May of 2017 and joined only 12 other communities in the nation that are Class 4 or better. This Class 4 Designation could translate into an up to 30% discount for flood insurance policyholders living in Palm Coast.

The CRS is administered under the National Flood Insurance Program and provides incentives for communities to join. By implementing higher standards and regulations, a community can earn points in the CRS and these points translate into flood insurance premium reductions for the citizens.

The CRS is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management practices that exceed the minimum requirements of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

In CRS communities, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from the community’s efforts that address the three goals of the program:

  1. Reduce and avoid flood damage to insurable property
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the National Flood Insurance Program
  3. Foster comprehensive floodplain management

To find out more about the City of Palm Coasts Class Four Community Rating visit or email

You can also view the Video News Release here.

Media Release: City of Palm Coast. Shannon P. Martin, Public Information Supervisor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here